Who Has the Edge in the NFL MVP Race a Third of the Way Through the Season?


As an NFL analyst, it pains me to say this, but the league’s MVP debates are the most boring in all of sports. There’s an obvious reason for that: In other major leagues, the award can realistically be won by a player at many positions. That’s not the case in the NFL, where only two defensive players have ever won it, and the past eight MVPs have been quarterbacks.

That trend will almost certainly continue in 2021, as the top 11 betting favorites are all quarterbacks, per FanDuel:

1. Dak Prescott +400

2. Josh Allen +400

3. Kyler Murray +400

4. Tom Brady +1000

5. Aaron Rodgers +1000

6. Matthew Stafford +1000

7. Justin Herbert +1200

8. Patrick Mahomes +1600

9. Lamar Jackson +1600

10. Derek Carr +5000

11. Sam Darnold +8000

Story continues