HOF results: How Bonds, other Bucs fared


After their first year of eligibility for the Hall of Fame, Aramis Ramirez and A.J. Burnett won’t be back on the ballot next year. Barry Bonds will return for one last try, setting up another year of intense debate.

• Complete Hall of Fame coverage

Those three former Pirates were on the 2021 Hall of Fame ballot, but they weren’t inducted into Cooperstown when the voting results were announced on Tuesday night. In fact, no candidate on this year’s ballot received the necessary share of the vote to be elected into the Hall of Fame. Curt Schilling came the closest of anybody, falling 16 votes short in a year with a record 14 blank ballots submitted.

There will still be a group of baseball icons formally entering the Hall of Fame this summer. Derek Jeter was voted in on his first Baseball Writers’ Association of America ballot last year, while Larry Walker cracked the 75 percent threshold on his last chance to enter the Hall via the BBWAA ballot. The Modern Baseball Era committee also selected Ted Simmons and late players’ union executive Marvin Miller to round out the Class of 2020. Their induction ceremony was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Story continues