Hall of Fame results: Curt Schilling missed cut by 16 votes, wants off ballot


Derek Jeter and two other baseball stars will have the stage to themselves this summer in Cooperstown, N.Y.

No player was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in this year’s cycle. Results of balloting from the Baseball Writers Association of America were released on Tuesday night.

Last summer’s induction ceremonies were cancelled, so the celebration of ex-players Derek Jeter, Larry Walker and Ted Simmons was pushed to this summer’s ceremonies.

Jeter and Walker were elected by the baseball writers; Simmons and longtime union chief Marvin Miller were selected by the Hall’s Modern Era Committee.

Jeter and Simmons are both Michigan natives. Miller is deceased and his family has previously said they will honor his wishes by not participating in the ceremony. The three living honorees will be feted — we hope — on July 25 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Story continues