Big Ten will have eight-game season with unique championship ninth week

Sep 7, 2019; Columbus, OH, USA; Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback Justin Fields (1) is congratulated by Buckeyes offensive lineman Wyatt Davis (52) following his first quarter touchdown against the Cincinnati Bearcats at Ohio Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports

Now that the Big Ten has gotten off its keester and moved forward with its announcement on the reinstatement of the fall football season, it’s time to start looking at what a schedule might look like.

While appearing on a Zoom call with reporters, Ohio State Athletic Director Gene Smith said conference ADs will begin formulating specifics of the schedule beginning tomorrow morning, but we already know a couple of things about the framework.

The schedule will begin on October 23 and 24, and will consist of eight-games for each team, all culminating in a Big Ten Championship Game on December 19, just one day prior to the College Football Playoff’s last rankings to determine the four teams in the playoff. The schedule includes no bye-weeks.

Story continues


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here